untitled sharing

2 poems, by Nancy Wood.

My help is in the mountain
where I take myself to heal
the earthly wounds
that people give to me.
I find a rock with sun on it.
And a stream where the water runs gentle.
And the trees which one by one give me company.
So must I stay for a long time
until I have grown from the rock
and the stream is running through me
and I cannot tell myself from one tall tree.
Then I know that nothing touches me
nor makes me run away.
My help is in the mountain
that I take away with me.

Earth cure me. Earth receive my woe. Rock strengthen
me. Rock receive my weakness. Rain wash my sadness
away. Rain receive my doubt. Sun make sweet my song.
Sun receive the anger from my heart.

****************************************************

To know the Earth on a first-name basis
you must know the meaning of river stones first.
Find a place that calls to you and there
lie face down in the grass until you feel
each plant alive with the mystery of beginnings.
Move in a circle until you discover an insect
crawling with knowledge in its heart.
Examine a newborn leaf and find a map of a universe
so vast that only Eagles understand.
Observe the journey of an ant and imitate its path
of persistence in a world of bigger things.
Borrow a cloud and drift high above the Earth,
looking down at the smallness of your life.
The journey begins on a path made of your old mistakes.
The journey continues when you call the Earth by name.

Leave a Reply

