here a pagan, there a pagan…

Pagans are everywhere. Seriously.

When I was younger, it was considered slightly taboo to wear a pentacle in public, and you were quite the rebellious one if you actually chose to do so. And now, goodness. Everywhere I turn there is some sign of paganism. On my facebook page, there has been post after post of Beltane wishes. Some I expected. But there were some I was quite surprised about. And I’m finding more and more people in the yoga community digging into pagan customs and practices.

This is something that I’ve always connected to, being both a witch and a yogini. One enhances and fully supports the other. Even one of my most respected teachers, Shiva Rea, has been sparking the pagan flame lately. I have been pleasantly surprised to see a lot of her messages in the last few years being directly inspired from the old ways. And I never knew! I mean, she has always been this brilliant feminine force that shines with goddess energy, but I never until recently seen so much pagan influence in her teaching. Has it always been this way with her? Or is she just now coming into that piece of her spirituality? I don’t know. And it doesn’t matter.

Paganism is everywhere and it always has been. But where once things were clouded and veiled, now they are busting out with neon lights! I read somewhere recently that witchcraft (they might have named Wicca specifically but I can’t be held to details at the moment :)) was the fasted growing religion in (was it the States or the world… can’t remember) and I’m starting to believe it.

Mainstream. Who’d have thunk it?

What does this mean for the future of this great planet? I have immense hope.

I’m not one of those delusional new agers that believes that just because someone claims to be a witch/light worker/hippie/earth mama, that they actually are in a state of elevated consciousness. I’ve known too many on a spiritual path that continue to tread heavily on this earth.

But I still think we’re getting closer. I think we’re waking up. Our hearts are opening to the greater message of it all.

I’m moved to pass on these lyrics:

♪♫ Come on you unbelievers, move out of the way
there is a new army coming and we are armed with faith
To live, we must give
To live
And lend our voices only to sounds of freedom
No longer lend our strength to that which we wish to be free from
Fill your lives with love and bravery
And we shall lead a life uncommon. ~Jewel ♪♫

I know the term “army” can have negative connotations at times, but I think it gets the point across. We are here. We are coming together. We are learning and experiencing and growing.

We are ready to shine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

