bubble, bubble…

I was at Border’s Friday eve, having tea, getting some ‘me’ time in. It’s not often that I do that you know~ get the me time. I also try not to make a habit of big box shopping. I stay local as often as possible. But hey, I had a 40% of coupon. That’s practically wholesale 🙂

So as I was perusing between the crafts section and the Craft section, a flock of girls (yes, flock) came running into the aisle (where I no longer was) marked New Age (new age = witchcraft? I suppose that requires its own blog post at a later date). The girls, giggling and excited starting grabbing for books, quickly deciding what was useful and what was not. I guesstimated their ages to be somewhere between 14-16. I overheard one of them talking about hexes and spells and a certain boys unmentionables falling off.

Goodness me! Did these girls really expect to find a formula for such silliness? And then I realized that yes, they did. That was what witchcraft was to them. And while they may have been skeptical, their excitement was feeding their belief in the concept of this negative act of magic.

What is unfortunate, is that I think that there is in existence certain spell books that would lead these girls into thinking that this is witchcraft.

Alright. I know that it’s none of my business and perhaps I should’ve just left them to their fancy. I mean, what do they care? I’m just some silly adult. What do I know? So I kept it simple and light.

I walked through the aisle, and as they continued their talk of the bad things they could make happen to this boy, I merely said, “karma ladies, remember karma”, and “don’t worry, if that boy’s hurt you, he’ll get what he deserves.” And I walked away, with them giggling behind me.

Well you know what they say, “a woman scorned…”

The whole thing got me thinking to back when I was barely 13. My friend Kelly and I were just finding witchcraft and were still in the magic spell and ouija board kind of delusional faze. One night, we decided to make a voodoo type doll because we were pissed at one of our teachers. I don’t remember what it was she did, but whatever it was it certainly didn’t deserve our teenage wrath. So we proceeded with a bit of candle magic and inflicted our angst and rage on this poor replica of Mrs. Armstrong.

The following few days at school she was inexplicably absent, and when she returned, her face was severely bandaged. Kelly and I were horrified! Had we been a party to this terrible accident?! Certainly not! I mean, we were just 2 silly little wannabe witches! Well, either way, it shook us up deeply and we (as far as I can remember) stayed away from harmful magic from that point on. And of course, decades later I have learned and grown and blossomed in my faith as a witch. It was still spiritual to me then, but I was also very ignorant.

I don’t think there’s necessarily any harm in the girls trying to find a hex for their boyfriends. It’s fairly natural in the life of a teenager to get more than a little pissed off. So where does the harm lie? Where is the line crossed? In the stereotypes? In the false illusions of the Craft? What it comes down to I suppose is to each their own. As witches, raise your children well, set a good example for your faith. As authors, keep things simple and real. And don’t forget that there is Spirit in the Craft. And for the wannabe spell casters out there, teenagers and beyond, just remember the old fashioned law of Karma 🙂

Leave a Reply

