transitions.

"Listen! The wind is rising, and the air is wild with leaves. We have had our summer evenings, now for October eves!" ~Humbert Wolfe

“Listen! The wind is rising, and the air is wild with leaves. We have had our summer evenings, now for October eves!” ~Humbert Wolfe

How are you feeling as you transition into this darker time? As the Earth begins her gentle descent into the depths of the season, might I suggest you take some time to rest yourself? To reflect and take stock of the fruits of your labor, to slow down, and most importantly, just to be grateful for the love and bounty of your life?

After the Equinox, I felt that Summer wasn’t quite ready to loose its grasp and let Fall roll its way in. Alas, as the days have counted their way into the season, I am reminded again of the rhythmic cycle of life; everything must fall away to rise again. Indeed the morning chill has shown its face and I find myself bundling up and enjoying the transition into Fall.

I move deeply into my yoga practice this time of year. When the darkness pours in, I allow the silence of the season to fill me. When the winter doldrums begin to take hold, I seek the sun. Originally from the Florida coast, our main seasons were Summer and Hurricane. The chill of the occasional cold front came and went, with the excitement of the rare and breathtaking icicle to put many a smile of the child’s face. But it wasn’t until I moved to Colorado that I began to experience the true essence of the Seasons. I feel truly blessed to bear witness and move through the journey of Mother Nature’s cycles.

My yoga practice allows me to connect to these changes on a deeper level. As I move through asana, listening to my breath, feeling the physical heartbeat of my own body, I am reminded that that rhythm is part of the larger rhythm of life on this planet. It is the same heartbeat of Mother Earth.

I invite you to be still, and connect to that magical life force that carries us on, and connects us all… what a gift is it just to breathe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

